Pictorial Musings

I was in Marlow recently, and in the Cancer Research Shop they had two radios in a showcase

DSC_0157

I think the radio behind the Hacker Radio may have been made by Perdio.  The one that did attract my attention was the Hacker Radio. It was in superb condition and the asking price was £40.

The lady in the shop was very obliging, she asked me if I would like her to take it out of the showcase, so I could photograph it easier.  I was obliged to her, and these are the photos I took of this AM radio. It only receives mw and lw. Hacker were to my mind a more expensive and better built radio than Roberts at the time. Also it was manufactured quite local to me in Maidenhead.

DSC_0161DSC_0162DSC_0163

The radio museum.org have some interesting facts about this gem of a radio. Somebody must have looked after this radio very well indeed!

Mini-Herald RP17

Use red slider bar for more.
Mini-Herald RP17; Hacker Radio Ltd., (ID = 361549) Radio
Hacker Radio Ltd.,: Mini-Herald RP17 [Radio] ID = 361549 900×670
Select picture or schematic to display from thumbnails on the right and click for download.
For model Mini-Herald RP17, Hacker Radio Ltd., Maidenhead:
My 1962 Hacker Mini-Herald MW/LW 7 transistor radio in its cardinal red and ascot grey leathercloth covered wooden case with brass trim
Country: Great Britain (UK)
Manufacturer / Brand: Hacker Radio Ltd., Maidenhead
Year: 1962/1963 Type: Broadcast Receiver – or past WW2 Tuner
Semiconductors (the count is only for transistors) 7: AF117 AF117 AF117 AC127 OC81D AC127 OC81
Principle Super-Heterodyne (Super in general); ZF/IF 470 kHz
Wave bands Broadcast (MW) and Long Wave.
Details
Power type and voltage Dry Batteries / 2 × 9 Volt
Loudspeaker Permanent Magnet Dynamic (PDyn) Loudspeaker (moving coil) – elliptical
Power out 1 W (unknown quality)
from Radiomuseum.org Model: Mini-Herald RP17 – Hacker Radio Ltd., Maidenhead
Material Leather / canvas / plastic – over other material
Shape Portable set > 8 inch (usable without mains)
Dimensions (WHD) 9.5 x 6.75 x 3.5 inch / 241 x 171 x 89 mm
Notes 6 × 4 inch elliptical loudspeaker. Sockets for earphone and external aerial.
Net weight (2.2 lb = 1 kg) 1.7 kg / 3 lb 11.9 oz (3.744 lb)
Collectors’ prices
Source of data – – Data from my own collection

Model page created by Howard Craven. See “Data change” for further contributors.

I wonder if  you remember the excellent Observer Book series. These are supposed to fetch some fantastic prices now.  I have seen them in some secondhand bookshops for as little as 50p.

The Oxfam shop in Marlow has these on show

DSC_0153 DSC_0154

DSC_0152

Can you imagine bathing in this bath, also it must be for ladies only? It must also be very difficult to climb into and out of!  You can see a glimpse of Marlow Town in the reflections in the window!

DSC_0151

Finallt I  saw these used old postcards in another local charity shop.  Quite unusual German?

DSC_0166

The card above may refer to this song?

DSC_0167

The card above refers as far as I can determing to the saying “every cloud has a silver lining”

I never studied German, but think this video has the song it is refering to in it

That is one of the longest Pictorial Musings I have done for ages – if you would like to correct me, or update any information I have written, then please do comment. Or email wirewaffle@hotmail.com. All mail goes into spam there so head it up Pictorial Musings so I can find it when sifting the spam daily. Thank you,

Leave a Reply

