The silly part of the Oyster Card! Most unfair – wake up Boris and TFL!

It is very unfair that we have to go on a train journey or tram journey to activate auto top up on a pay as you go Oyster Card.  They can do so much on the telephone but not this!!  Very unfair and very silly.

I had the misfortune of losing my Oyster Card today, partly due to my own carelessness.  I had problems reporting it stolen due to the design of the Oyster Card website.  It mentions a whole range of concessionary tickets but nothing about a pay as you go normal Oyster Card.  I rang the helpline and they pointed out that there was a continue button at the bottom of the webpage.  I managed to scan down about two screens and found it and cancelled the ticket.  

Next I went out to buy a new Oystercard from the railway station locally.  When I got back I could not register this card.  I then got on to them and they set it up for me on the phone.  Then I wanted to add auto top up and it would not accept it without me putting an amount of money on it first, it also said I had to make a journey on a train first.  I challenged this and asked for a supervisor to ring me back.

She confirmed that I have to go on a train journey in order to active auto top up.  This is fine if you use trains but I mainly used buses.  So tomorrow I will have to take a train in order to activate my auto top up.

It is very unfair that we have to go on a train journey or tram journey to activate auto top up on a pay as you go Oyster Card.  They can do so much on the telephone but not this!!  Very unfair and very silly.

If anyone finds my Oyster Card, in a Radio Caroline slimline wallet, it has a website card in it, please email me at wirewaffle@hotmail.com if you have found it.  My guess is someone has taken it for themselves and found it does not work, there also may be some money in it and that will no doubt be temptation!

You do not have to look far in London to spot some silly rules – If you use only buses there should be a way to top up your card at the station and not incur a £7 fee for an incomplete journey. Boris you must change this situation!

Leave a Reply

